Key Stage 1

Pupils should be taught to:

  • understand what algorithms are, how they are implemented as programs on digital devices, and that programs execute by following precise and unambiguous instructions
  • create and debug simple programs
  • use logical reasoning to predict the behaviour of simple programs
  • use technology purposefully to create, organise, store, manipulate and retrieve digital content
  • recognise common uses of information technology beyond school
  • use technology safely and respectfully, keeping personal information private; identify where to go for help and support when they have concerns about content or contact on the internet or other online technologies

Key Stage 2

Pupils should be taught to:

  • design, write and debug programs that accomplish specific goals, including controlling or simulating physical systems; solve problems by decomposing them into smaller parts
  • use sequence, selection, and repetition in programs; work with variables and various forms of input and output
  • use logical reasoning to explain how some simple algorithms work and to detect and correct errors in algorithms and programs
  • understand computer networks, including the internet; how they can provide multiple services, such as the World Wide Web, and the opportunities they offer for communication and collaboration
  • use search technologies effectively, appreciate how results are selected and ranked, and be discerning in evaluating digital content
  • select, use and combine a variety of software (including internet services) on a range of digital devices to design and create a range of programs, systems and content that accomplish given goals, including collecting, analysing, evaluating and presenting data and information
  • use technology safely, respectfully and responsibly; recognise acceptable/unacceptable behaviour; identify a range of ways to report concerns about content and contact

Whole School Curriculum - Computing


eSafety can be described as a school's ability to protect and educate pupils and staff in their use of technology and to have the appropriate mechanisms to intervene and support any incident where appropriate.

It is usually identified in 3 main areas:

  • Content - being exposed to illegal, inappropriate or harmful material.
  • Contact - being subjected to harmful online interaction with other users.
  • Conduct - personel online behaviour that increases the likelihood of, or causes, harm.

At Lindfield Primary Academy, we take eSafety very seriously. It is part of our computing curriculum and staff recieve regular training. In addition Years 4,5, and 6 participate in a workshop with our police liason officer. We have proceedures in place to support incidents and which reflect Child Protection guidelines.

Information & Online Resources - UK Safer Internet Centre

Conversation Starters - UK Safer Internet Centre

Safer Internet Day presentation - UK Safer Internet Centre

Listed below are a number of websites that have good advice on promoting eSafety: